Boundmix Exit Reader Mode

ITIL knowledge shared to improve efficiency, reliability and quality effectveness.

Do kindly note This is a work still in progress.
The below is a study content guide to taking the below exam certificate

It is important to note that ITIL is a registered trademark of Axelos Ltd

Featured imaged credited to IT governance publishing.

What is ITIL?

It can Ibe referred to as the most preferred certification approach to getting into the Information Technology Service Management department.
ITIL is the most widely used service management framework.
Do kindly note: After the release of Version 4, ITIL is no longer an acronym that stands for Information technology Infrastructure library.
The reason for the change at version was because ITIL is no longer a library but a community involved with various content writers and contributors.
Also, the community now has over 2000 members who steer its development.
It's no surprise that information technology can be found in the core areas of every business.

Building the ITIL Community ( Photo by Axelos )The purpose of ITIL is to offer organizations comprehensive guidance for the management of information technology within the modern world evolution to provide an end to end IT digital operating model covering a sustainable and valuable  tech-enabled product and servicewhile guiding the Organization, on how technologies used may interfaces with the companies business strategy by promoting it.

Overview Of the ITIL Certification Scheme

Below is a link to where the full update to the latest ITIL scheme can be found

ITIL Certification Scheme ( Photo by Axelos )

How to transition from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4 ( Video by Axelos )

The ITIL Foundation Exam

ITIL Foundation exam format

  1. Multiple choice examination questions
  2. There are going to be likely four types of questions:  standard, missing word, list and what is not 
  3. 40 questions each worth 1 point
  4. 26 marks required to pass (out of 40 available) - 65%
  5. 60 minute's duration to complete the exam
  6. 75 minute's to complete it if not taking the exam in one's Native / Working Language 
  7. Closed book.

Naturally, ITIL's questions are based upon bloom's level taxonomy

  • Blooms Level 1 ( represents approximately 77.5% of the question ) involves "to remember." 
  • Blooms Level 2 ( represents approximately 22.5% of the question ) involves "to understand." 
  • The apply(3), Analyse(4), Evaluate(5), and create(6) bloom level are tested in ITIL Managing professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL)

Examing the ITIL Foundation Path

Core Learning Outcomes
Number of Test Questions
Approximate question weight
Understand the Key service Concepts
Understand how the ITIL guiding principles can help an organisation adopt and adapt service management
Unbderstand the four dimentsions of service Management
Understand the purpose and components of the ITIL service value system
Understand the activities of the service value chain, and how they interconnect25%
Know the purpose and key terms of 15 ITIL practices717.5%
Understand 7 ITIL Practices1742.5%

The Purpose of ITIL

ITIL 4 provides an organization with a comprehensive framework for ITSM.
IT is designed to ensure that an effective, efficient, flexible, coordinated and integrated system for governance and management of ITIL services is established and continually improving in the organization.

IT Service Management Evolution

Services are the primary way an organization creates value for them selfs and their customers

All most all services are IT enables from areas of split riding to booking a hotel, to purchasing things from Amazon.

There is no denying that there are tremendous benefits for organizations in creating IT service management capabilities

Note: stagnation does not bring value

If an organization wishes to build a sustainable and effective service management model, they must be ready to:

  • Create that ITSM Capability module
  • Manage that ITSM Capability Module
  • Improve upon that ITSM Capability Module
  • Expand on the ITSM Capability Module

Dream Big

Technology keeps evolving like nothing before

We have things like

  • cloud computing
  • blockchain technology
  • memory-only storage
  • Machine learning and artificial intelligence
  • Internet of things (IoT)

The Four ITIL dimensions of IT Service Management

All these technologies have opened up fresh areas of values where services had evolved as well to where we  see things like

  • infrastructure as a service - Iaas
  • Platform as a service - PaaS
  • Software as a Service - SaaS

Core Components of ITIL Service Systems

  1. ITIL Service Value Chain ( SVC )
  2. ITIL Practice
  3. ITIL Guiding Principle
  4. IT Govenance
  5. Continusl Improvement

Knowledge Test

Take a Quiz

Kindly Share and support Osisanya Boluwatife on Patreon!
Post Disclaimer

The information contained in this post is for general information purposes only.Various authors of the site provide the information, and while we endeavor them to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability concerning the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the post for any purpose.
Although, as Boundmix teams developers, we would try to ensure all information published is appropriate. If you do find anything inappropriate on the post, kindly report the post content with the use of the Report issue button at the top-right of post content.
Do also kindly note that the post may contain elements of affiliation and advertisements.